The Prediction Game Continues
Well we have a new government with a new party and the prospect of some interesting political alliances- It seems bedfellows make interesting Canadian politics.
With Paul Martin's resignation, the Liberals are going to have themselves a leadership contest- the first real leadership race since Chretien took over after the disaster that was John Turner.
A lot of names are being tossed around including:
Frank McKenna
Brian Tobin
John Manley
Martin Cauchon
Maurizio Bevilacqua
So...my challenge to you all is to predict the next leader of the Liberal Party of Canada.
I predict Frank McKenna.
4 Comments:
This will be very a very interesting race.
How about Ignatieff? I think he will go in, not sure what kind of wave he can make though.
Don't Forget
Bob Rae
Belinda Stronach
Scott Brison
Bill Graham
Jean Lapierre (doubt it)
Michael Ignatieff
My pick is for Mckenna as well.
However, while it sounds strange, I think Rae is a serious contender and could do the job.
I know people always go back to the infamous Rae Days but just watch what happens. I just have a feeling. (Could be absolutely wrong though)
Good Speaker
Charismatic
Rhodes Scholoar
Not in the Ottawa inner circle
(Party insiders don't usually become PMs)
We'll see soon enough.
Also...
If Belinda Stronach does not win the nomination, she'll leave public office all together.
I'll say Cauchon, unless someone else emerges from the decaying carcass that is the current contingent of Quebec Liberal MPs. The Liberals have tended to alternate between anglophone-francophone leaders (King, St. Laurent, Pearson, Trudeau, Turner, Chretien, Martin) so aside from Lapierre or maybe Denis Coderre I think Cauchon's a safe bet.
If they break from tradition, I'd say McKenna or maybe Bill Graham. I could've got behind the phrase "Prime Minister Anne McClellan" but after Monday it doesn't look like that'll be happening any time soon.
Mckenna - out
Manley - out
Tobin - out
Bill Graham - looking like he's going to be the interim leader. That means he probably will not get the nomination.
Pierre Pettigrew lost his seat in the election and also has that whole "Limo Driver" fiasco that will only be fodder for the opposition.
I heard an interesting statement the other day...
"The only way Jack Layton will be come PM is of he joins the Liberal Party."
It seems unlikely on the surface but if you think about it, it's true.
I know I keep bringing up these NDP stalwarts ( I have never voted NDP )but of the current mixture of people still in the running for the party, I think the combination of:
Experience,
Style,
Political Intelligence or Savvy
is rather thin now and I have a feeling the new Liberal leader will come from outside the party.
Trevor's right about the alternating cycle Anglophone/Francophone Liberal leaders but what francophone would do well outside of Quebec right now.
I don't think any right now and while seats in Quebec are politically important, this election showed the sovereigntist vote is really not as strong as it was thought to be.
Many people voted Bloc because it was not the Liberals and then when the Conservatives showed up as a viable federalist option, the Bloc lost ground.
With that said, the next leader must be completely bilingual.
This post is too long.
Post a Comment
<< Home